FAQs about the Commonwealth Games

FAQs about the Commonwealth Games

The Commonwealth Games 2018 are being held in Gold Coast and it is the perfect chance for athletes and sports people who are eager to prove their techniques, show their newly-acquired skills and to put their well-trained bodies at work in order to win a gold medal. However, this competition is not as popular as the Olympics, although both of them happen once in every four years. For this reason, if you are interested in learning more about the Commonwealth Games Gold Coast, you should definitely take a look at the list below of the most frequently asked questions about this sports competition.


What exactly are the Commonwealth Games?

For those who are not familiar with the term, it is worth mentioning that it is an international multi-sports games event, that is considered to be unique and “friendlier” compared to the Olympics. They are known as the “friendly games” due to the fact that everyone involved in this event can talk to each other in only one language – English.

Who can take part in this sport event?

Those interested in the Commonwealth Games event should know it is open to every competitor who is part of the CGA (Commonwealth Games Association), regardless the Commonwealth country, colony or associated territory of a country they come from.

What is to know about Commonwealth Games Gold Coast 2018?

As it was previously mentioned, this event is held every four years and in 2018, when will be its 21st edition, the event is going to take place in Gold Coast, Australia, which made the country to be the host of the competition for the fifth time. There are ten core sports categories in which competitors can enrol and those are athletics, boxing, badminton, netball, hockey, rugby sevens, squash, weightlifting, lawn bowls and swimming.

Are there any core values of this movement?

Yes, the Commonwealth Games movement has three core values and those are Humanity, Equality and Destiny, which were adopted back in 2001. These values managed to unite and inspire millions of people and they are the symbol of the CGF (Commonwealth Games Foundation). With each edition of this sports event, people celebrate humanity and equality through the fact that they manage to come all together in one place and they also celebrate destiny, since for many competitors, this event is a great opportunity to push their limits even further to reach their goals.

What if there are young people who want to participate in the Commonwealth Games?

Since there were numerous teenagers over the years who wanted to take part in such an important sports event, the Commonwealth Young Games event was created and it was first held in Edinburgh, Scotland, back in 2000. Just as the original sports event, this competition specifically designed for teen athletes takes place every four years in a different location. It is important to mention that participants must be between 14 and 18 years old in order to be able to take part in this competition.

Overall, these are the most frequently asked questions about this international multi-sports games event.

Comments are closed.